Chocolate cake, igloos and poo

It wasn’t intentional, but I’m quite enjoying the imagery that the title of this thread conjures up. If you’re feeling a bit queasy, however, then please be assured it is safe for you to read on; there’s no tale of a terrible dietary incident while on a winter holiday…

I often try recipes from fellow low FODMAP bloggers; some work out better than others, but I’ve got a quite a few new dishes and treats up my sleeve.

A few weeks ago I saw a tasty looking recipe for some chocolate brownies  containing sweet potato on The Fat Foodie’s blog.

P1020078 (500x375)

I used eggs and butter for mine, and pecans instead of walnuts. They were really tasty and deliciously moist. On the recommendation in the recipe, I pulled mine out of the oven while there was still a bit of gooiness. Warmed, they went very well with a bit of cream or ice cream so would be a great dessert.

P1020084 (500x375)

So onto the igloo and the poo…

It was my son’s birthday recently.  I’ve had some interesting cake requests over the years, including a lightning cake, a pinata cake, a Beatles cake and a battlefield. I usually approach these tasks quite jovially, despite cake decorating not being a strength of mine; my efforts sometimes/often look like they were made by a 5 year old, but laughter is still a happy, and therefore a favourable, response, right?!

I still come out in a cold sweat remembering the Pingu-themed igloo cake that I made one year though.  Getting the right shaped cake was a headache as the cake didn’t cook evenly in a glass bowl, and when I’d figured that part out, getting the icing smoothly over the dome shape was a whole new ball game. I had to hand over to my husband to finish it before I threw it out of the window (Pingu is cardboard, I had nothing else left to give by that point).

Picture 061 (500x317)

This year however,  my son asked me to ‘make a cake that looks like a poo’ and ‘if possible a pile of dog poo rather than a human poo’ and I thought it was one I might be able to pull off!

(I did toy with the idea of recreating the Bristol Stool Chart, but thought the types showing inflammation might be a bit too much.)

There was a request to have the chocolate brownie recipe above for the sponge, but I’d accidentally used the sweet potato to make some wedges, so used a basic cake batter recipe, which I doubled up so I could create a few tiers of decreasing size to mimic a coiled poo.

Cake Ingredients

  • 4oz GF SR Flour (Dove’s)
  • 4oz sugar
  • 4oz butter/ low FODMAP margarine
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp golden syrup*

*This tip came from my gran; the addition of cocoa powder could dry out the mix, but not when countered by the gooey, stickiness of the syrup. Half of a tablespoon of golden syrup is allowed on the low FODMAP diet, so it should be fairly easy to stay in a recommended serve of this.

Buttercream icing ingredients

  • 5oz butter
  • 10oz icing sugar, sieved
  • cocoa

Method

  • Heat the oven to 190c (Gas Mark 5) and line and grease the cake tin(s)
  • Put all the cake ingredients together in a bowl and mix until smooth
  • Pour into cake tin(s) and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean from the centre
  • In a clean bowl, beat the butter until smooth and add in the icing sugar
  • Add cocoa until it looks a convincing poo colour (add some lactose-free milk if it’s too thick)
  • Assemble decreasing sized circles of cooled cake to create a ‘pile of poo’ shape
  • Cover the cake with the icing and if you can’t quite get the spiralling effect you’re after from the icing,  use an icing bag without a nozzle to create a convincing finish on top.

P1020227 (459x500)

It went down very well anyway!

 

 

One thought on “Chocolate cake, igloos and poo

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

