Upping the breakfast stakes: Granola

Okay, so I previously wrote about my breakfast choices, which I really did (and still do) enjoy. ┬áBut my former favourites didn’t always score highly on fibre, and without going into too much detail, since I’ve been on the low FODMAP diet, my stomach has been so much calmer that it now benefits me to be a bit more mindful of fibre content.

I now have a few more breakfasts in my repertoire that tick the fibre box, and my latest discovery is granola, which is basically a crunchy muesli (I’m not generally a cereal fan, possibly largely because I’m not that fond of the taste of milk). It has so much flavour and such a wonderful texture, that it’s quickly become a firm breakfast favourite.

gran4 (363x500)

Granola is great with lactose-free milk (it has so much flavour that even if you’re not mad about milk, it’s still really good), or sprinkled on some lactose-free yogurt. Portion size will depend on your specific blend of ingredients. I tend to eat a few spoonfuls of this with some yogurt as part of my breakfast, rather than having a big bowl of it, so don’t have to overthink what a safe portion size is.

gran3 (500x374)

Roughly the recipe I used was:

  • 2 cups of oats
  • 1 1/2 cups of mixed nuts and seeds, roughly chopped (I used pecans, walnuts, macadamia nuts, ground golden flaxseed, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds and pine nuts)
  • 1/3 cup of dried fruit (I used dried cranberries and raisins which are both low FODMAP in small amounts)
  • 2 tbsp desiccated coconut
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil – melted
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup

Method

  • Preheat your oven to 180c (160c for fan ovens)
  • Mix the oats, nuts and seeds, coconut and salt in a bowl
  • In a separate bowl, mix the melted coconut oil and maple syrup
  • Pour the liquid mixture over the dry ingredients and stir thoroughly until all the ingredients are evenly coated
  • Spread this mixture out on a baking tray lined with baking paper
  • Bake in the oven for 15 minutes, and then take out, move it all around on the tray and add the dried fruit
  • Return to the oven for another 15 minutes, by which time it should be slightly golden
  • Allow to cool completely and then transfer to an airtight container – it’ll keep for up to a month

gran2 (500x331)

You can play around with this recipe using whatever seeds and nuts you really like. Just consult the Monash app and make sure that whatever quantity of anything you use (individual ingredients or ones in the same group added together) stays low FODMAP.

The recipe above filled two jars like the one pictured below. I’ll have to double up on my next batch as after giving some to my parents to try, they’ve put in an order for more.

gran5 (392x500)

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

